Ministry of Mines India is responsible for survey and exploration of all minerals, other than natural gases, petroleum and atomic minerals, for mining and metallurgy of non-ferrous metals like aluminium, copper, zinc, lead, gold, nickel, etc. and for administration of the Mines and Minerals (Regulation and Development) Act, 1957 in respect of all mines and minerals other than coal, natural gas and petroleum.

A list of subjects allocated to the Ministry of Mines, Attached Office, Subordinate Office, Public Sector Undertakings and Research Institutions under the administrative control of Ministry of Mines are given below:-

1. (a) Legislation for regulation of mines and development of minerals within the territory of India, including mines and minerals underlying the ocean within the territorial waters or the continental shelf, or the exclusive economic zone and other maritime zones of India as may be specified, from time to time by or under any law made by Parliament.

1. (b) Regulation of mines and development of minerals other than Coal, Lignite and Sand for stowing and any other mineral declared as prescribed substances for the purpose of the Atomic Energy Act, 1962 (33 of 1962) under the control of the Union as declared by law, including questions concerning regulation and development of minerals in various. States and the matters connected therewith or incidental thereto.

2. All other metals and minerals not specifically allotted to any other Ministry/Department, such as Aluminium, Zinc, Copper, Gold, Diamonds, Lead and Nickel.

3. Planning, development and Control of, and assistance to, all industries dealt with by the Ministry.

4. Administration and Management of Geological Survey of India.

5. Administration and Management of Indian Bureau of Mines

6. Metallurgical Grade Silicon

Ministry of Mines India are Platinum Sponsors of IMARC and will showcase leading Indian miners, equipment, technology and services on the IMARC exhibition floor. Register your complimentary expo pass here.